The Week In Review-The Weekend Ahead

Soloist Karine Poghosyan Returns to Newburgh Symphony to Play “Rachmaninoff”

Soloist Kariné Poghosyan Returns to Newburgh Symphony to Play “Rachmaninoff No. 3

The Greater Newburgh Symphony Orchestra (GNSO) will offer a dreamy, musical “Restive Reverie” on Saturday, May 5 at 7:30 pm at Aquinas Hall on the Mount Saint Mary College campus in Newburgh. The program, under the direction of Maestro Russell Ger, will include Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor, featuring soloist Kariné Poghosyan, and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, ‘Pathetique.’
Describing the program, Mr. Ger said: “Rachmaninoff composed in a sensuously melodic style, and his Piano Concerto No. 3 is evidence of this, filled with lush melodies as well as extraordinary pianistic virtuosity. The latter is almost at odds with the expansive ease of the tunes themselves, thereby imparting a restless spirit that seems constantly in search of something. Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony is arguably his greatest work. With exalting heights and plunging depths, our very humanness, our dreams and strengths, frailties and fragilities, are on barest display. It never fails to profoundly move, not least because Tchaikovsky’s own specter hovers over us. The composer died nine days after the premiere.”
Kariné Poghosyan is well-known to GNSO audiences, having performed here frequently as the featured soloist. She is an Armenian pianist residing in New York City, who made her solo Carnegie Hall debut at age 23. Ms. Poghosyan has won numerous awards and performed in some of the world’s most prestigious concert halls.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: