River Lighthouse Camp for the Blind
Installation of historical marker
Submitted by Michael Summerfield, Past-President, Cornwall Lions
The Cornwall Lions are proud to present an historical marker commemorating the site of the River Lighthouse Camp for the Blind. The Camp was established in 1911 through the donation of the house and property by Emma Hardy to the New York Association for the Blind. The camp operated through 1975 providing guests with a safe outdoor experience. Munger Cottage and the American Legion building were used as dormitories and a series of trails with guide wires enabled guests to move freely around the 19 acre camp. The home became one of Cornwall’s favorite philanthropies for benefactors and donors from NYC to local groups wishing to support the cause. The Cornwall Lions were an active supporter of the camp – and the camp’s very existence may have influenced the Lions Club’s founding in 1931.
Caption: New Roadside Marker for River Lighthouse Camp for the Blind